Latest NewsPress Releases


Posted at December 19, 2012 | By : | Categories : Latest News,Press Releases | 2 Comments


Westminster Russia Forum is celebrating success today after Prime Minister David Cameron announced the creation of a new medal for British Arctic Veterans, following WRF’s tireless campaign.

In today’s Prime Minister’s Question Time, David Cameron told the House of Commons that Sir John Holmes’ review of medals would result in a new Arctic Star Medal, to be detailed in the New Year.

On Remembrance Day this year, Westminster Russia Forum (WRF) organised a letter signed by thirty two Members of Parliament to be submitted to the Honours and Decorations (HD) Committee requesting that British World War Two Veterans be rewarded with a medal in recognition of the part they played in the vital Arctic Convoy missions throughout the Second World War. The campaign included a Parliamentary Question by Arctic All Party Group Chair Andrew Rosindell MP to the Foreign Minister demanding the veterans’ service be honoured.

Among the signatories of the letter were former Foreign and Defence Secretary Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP; Defence Select Committee Member Julian Brazier MP; and Sir Gerald Howarth MP, who committed the Conservative Party to a change in the rule when he was Shadow Defence Minister.

Between 1941 and 1945 British warships escorted 78 convoys carrying thousands of aircraft, anti-aircraft guns, trucks and tanks, fuel, food, tools and other vital supplies through the Barents Sea to the Russian ports of Murmansk and Archangel in a voyage Winston Churchill described as “the worst journey in the World”.

Richard Royal, the Chairman of Westminster Russia Forum commented:

“We are delighted with today’s announcement from the Prime Minister, and very proud to have played a central role in the successful campaign to give these heroic veterans the recognition they deserve for securing the freedom of Europe.”   


For further information on WRF visit or contact Richard Royal on

The attached photograph shows Arctic Veteran Mr Gordon Copson with Andrew Rosindell MP and the letter.

The Members of Parliament who signed the letter are listed below:

Andrew Rosindell MP
Rt Hon Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP
John Whittingdale OBE MP
Sir Gerald Howarth MP
Laurence Robertson MP
Julian Brazier MP
Rt Hon John Redwood MP
Robert Buckland MP
David Davies MP
Andrew Griffiths MP
Andrew Stephenson MP
Oliver Colvile MP
Paul Maynard MP
Caroline Nokes MP
Bob Blackman MP
Matthew Offord MP
Marcus Jones MP
Sheryll Murray MP
Simon Kirby MP
Graham Brady MP
Simon Reevell MP
Jonathan Lord MP
Gordon Henderson MP
Justin Tomlinson MP
Philip Davies MP
Gareth Johnson MP
Rebecca Harris MP
Sir Roger Gale MP
Robert Walter MP
Richard Graham MP
Ian Swales MP
Jenny Willott MP

About WRF